Wednesday, April 09, 2008

Rainy Day Things

I made a big ol' pillow for my bed today, with fabric that matches the curtains. I always thought making a pillow sham with a flanged edge was something fancy, but come to find you just make the pillowcase 3 inches bigger all around and then sew a seam 3 inches in, and there's your flange. Simple as can be. Here's my little darlin' (sick today) using it to watch Robin Hood.
We got to see Heath and Jenny and their boys this weekend, that was fun. We went to the park and the kids ran around together, but I forgot to take any pictures. Oops. They'll just have to come back. :)

Matthew and I started watching "All Creature Great and Small" last night. We both just finished the books and loved them. The show is wonderful too. We laugh and laugh, and, unlike most other things, we can watch it with Anna around. It's eerie. I know my parents watched them when they were on TV, and it makes me feel like I'm little again. It's all so familiar. I remember thinking that my parents watched really boring TV, and now I'm choosing it. Does that make me old?

My Dad sent me a link to this article about people's top 5 books, and asked for our lists. I took that to mean books I loved and would always want to have around, and read over and over. Here's mine: (edited after Susan called me out, saying there's no way I'd put the Bible above Anne. I'm afraid she's right, but that's terrible. She also said I couldn't count all of the Anne books as one, but I'm going to anyway...People count the Lord of the Rings trilogy as one book...and hey! the Bible has lots of books in it too. So there.)


1. Anne of Green Gables, et al--L.M. Montgomery
2. The Bible
3. Cannery Row--Steinbeck
4. Our Mutual Friend--Dickens
5. Papa's Wife--Thyra Ferre Bjorn


Now--What are your top five??

Friday, April 04, 2008

Dollar Store Challenge

I entered this month's Craftster Challenge, though my entry is just a trifle alongside the incredible, amazing offerings of the other craftsters. It was fun for me, and I learned several things, and I know what I want to do with what I made, so I'll not feel bad about my entry.

Here are some that you should definitely look at. The challenge was to spend no more than $10 at a Dollar Store and make something.

Hands off my trash

The shag bag

Mod circles bath mat

Mum & Bub rainy day ensemble

Shoes!

Super functional kitchen caddy

Fancy Pants outfit for a toddler

Retro-style flower hat

The Amazing Technicolor Puppet Theater

Thursday, April 03, 2008

Goodbye, sweet friend

Matthew bought me a new car. He says that when we got Prissy I was sad and just missed Iggy. He says it wasn't until she told me her name that I loved her. I guess I'll love my new car too, but I think I'll always miss Prissy a little.
Remember...
  • Bringing Anna home from the hospital.
  • Driving home from Denver for Katrina's wedding, with Chelsea and Brandi and Katrina, feeling like no time had passed since High School.
  • Getting stuck in Traffic for hours in the Smoky Mountains, tossing gum to fellow travelers, scaring Katrina.
  • Going to Henderson TN, instead of Hendersonville in search of Johnny Cash's grave.
  • Leaving her lights on at the State Fair Brad Paisley Concert. Katrina and I trying to jump-start her.
  • Anna's crazy poo explosion in Limon on our first big trip together.
  • Exploring Kansas.
  • Driving all over Corpus Christi with Susan looking for the Selena Museum, and wondering where all the people were.
  • Ringing in 2006 with Matthew driving through Scott City, singing Tiny Dancer at the top of our lungs.
  • Mice living in the car that cold winter.
  • Playing Fiona Apple loudly on bad days at the High School.
  • Playing Vico C loudly on good ones.
  • Accidentally going to the airport instead of the hotel in Wichita with Abby.
  • Learning where my turn was when we moved out to the country.

Please share your Prissy memories. I'd love to know. And a prize to the first person to guess how many miles I put on her in the 52 months I had her. Within 1,000.

I feel like I ought to be sending her off into the world with a little personal ad on her windshield--

"Single White Female, loves long trips, the beach, loud Spanish music and Johnny Cash. Looking for love AND a good time."


Monday, March 31, 2008

Quarterly Checkup

I was thinking--maybe I'd do a better job with my resolutions if I thought about them more than just once a year. So, as we're finishing up the first quarter of this year, I thought I'd check in. **may be exceptionally boring post**

Be more healthy:
1. 5 fruits and veggies a day.--I think I am actually doing this most days. Woohoo!
2. 8 glasses of water.--Varies widely. But I think I'm drinking more water than last year, so that's something.
3. 7 hours of sleep a night.--Sometimes. I'm still working on it.
4. Get up before school to use my new treadmill!--I've given up on this one, as it is not possible to get enough sleep and get up before school. I've compromised- I use the treadmill in the afternoon, when I'm already up.
5. Incorporate new fruits and veggies into our lives.--Hmmm, I don't think I've really tried much new at all this year. Too busy so far. I'll have to work on this one.

Be more happy:
1. Try to sit more, not rush from one project to the next.--Total failure? Though I have been trying to watch TV with Matthew at night sometimes.
2. See more friends, make time to talk on the phone.--Nope. Worse than ever, I think. :(
3. Be nicer to Matthew.--Yes? I'll have to ask him.
4. Enjoy Anna.--Any tips on enjoying her when she's whiny? Because otherwise I'm doing ok, but the whining drives me crazy.

Be more holy:
1. Don't sleep too late to go to church. Enjoy both services.--Doing much better! New resolution--don't be late.

2. Read through the Bible.--Umm, we read though Anna's Bible, does that count? Otherwise, nope.
3. Pray more in a more focused way.--We may be figuring this out, praying with Anna and all together as a family is nice, and I've been trying to use my treadmill time too, but I sometimes feel bad multitasking God.

1. Support more local business and buy more handcrafted things.--Yes and no. We bought a lot of stuff for the bedroom online, and I forgot and bought the paint from Home Depot instead of J&M, I have done some shopping on Etsy, just no purchasing yet.

2. Take the GRE and start my master's program.--Application all done, now I wait!

3. Find more new music to love.--So far, pretty good. In January my Student Teacher introduced me to Bebe, from Spain. I love love love this CD (Pafuera telaraƱas). We had a great time poring over the lyrics with dictionaries trying to figure out which songs were clean and which were the reason for the EXPLICIT LYRICS warning. Bad words vary from country to country, so what's bad in Spain isn't in Mexico, and vise versa. It's a super fun CD, and I can recommend it without reservation, because most of you don't even speak Spanish, and won't know where the bad words are. (There really aren't too many)

In February Linda gave me a copy of Carla Bruni Quelqu'un M'a Dit. It's very calm and nice and in French, and I've loved it too.

In March...I don't think there's been anything perfect yet this month. Linda introduced me to She & Him, Volume One, and it was fun, but I haven't heard the whole CD yet. So, you all have one more day to give me a March album to love.

How're your resolutions going?

Thursday, March 27, 2008

Book thing

Shauna said if we were reading her blog, we were tagged...

The instructions: 1. Pick up the nearest book. (No cheating! Don't try to be cool and find something spectacular. It must be the book in closest physical proximity.)2. Turn to page 123.
3. Count the first five sentences.4. Write down the next three sentences.

"With the first doubled strip, make one cut 51/4 inches from fold, and another cut 141/2 inches from the first cut, producing two 21/2-inch-deep x 101/2 -inch-wide pieces and four 21/2-inch-deep x 141/2-inch-wide pieces. Repeat these cuts with the remaining fourteen doubled strips for a total of thirty 21/2-inch-deep x 101/2-inch-wide pieces and sixty 21/2-inch-deep x 141/2-inch-wide pieces. Set these Log Cabin Strips aside for piecing.

--"Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts" Joelle Hoverson

If you feel tagged, you are. (I wish I knew what that philosophy was called)

Evidence

backstory here:

Wednesday, March 26, 2008

Tag

Katrina tagged me, and I do want to encourage her to blog more, so I'd better respond.

10 years ago:
I was living in Boyd with Nikki, rowing, and having the best Spring with Matthew. We had so much fun that semester. I think this is the semester I realized that Spanish was my favorite thing to study. **EDIT** Actually, it was the semester I majored in Economics.

Things on my To-Do List today: (all of them?)
1. Make Lunch (I like to put everything on the list so I can mark it off)
2. Work out-1 hour
3. Clean bathrooms
4. Sew pieced border on quilt
5. Cut/sew outer border
6. Piece back of quilt
7. Prep to take to quilting lady tomorrow
8. Town-errands
9. Work on Craftster challenge project
10. BH&G online garden planner
11. Finish grad school application

Three Bad Habits:
1. Not going to bed when I should, staying up indefinitely to do "one more thing"
2. Picking at the skin around my nails. (drives MJL crazy)
3. Being late to school, church, everything.

If suddenly I became a billionaire:
Isn't this the same for everyone? Pay off debts. Farm on a cash basis, not relying on Farm Credit. Travel travel travel. Share. Buy a new Barbie Pink VW Bug with silver glitter lightning stripes and kickin' sound system even though I can barely fit Anna in it. Visit everyone I want to whenever I want to and fly out of GC even though it's expensive. Buy everything locally. PUT IN TWO POOLS!! indoor and outdoor. I'd better stop now, I'm getting excited.

Five jobs I have had:
1. Cashier at the Fun Center
2. Baby-sitter
3. Office Cleaner
4. High School Spanish Teacher
5. Elementary Spanish Teacher


Five things you might not know about me:
1. I love being irresponsible in tiny ways.
2. I don't like to watch movies.
3. I wouldn't turn down a free trip, but I'm not interested in traveling to Asia, Africa, or Australia.
4. I can't stop watching Mr. Rogers if I start.
5. Making this list was incredibly difficult.

OK--now I'll tag...Melanie, Chelsea, and Jenny.

Monday, March 24, 2008

Puzzles

A few things that I just don't know WHAT to think about...

*****In the US News Career Guide, teaching is listed as one of the 13 "Most Overrated Careers"

*****I have a huge yard that I would like to make nice, but I have no idea where to start. Is it possible to have a passably nice yard without an incredible amount of effort? I'm willing to put in a lot of work up front, but then I don't want to have to do a lot of maintenance. Maybe I could do one job outside every day? 30 minutes or so? Does anyone want to make up a plan for me? Every time I go outside to work I end up overwhelmed. I know I could do it if I knew what to do.

*****Anna asked her Grammy Joan to teach her how to read on Saturday. She recognizes 4 words plus her name now. I hadn't even been working very much on the alphabet. She knows 11 letters, I checked tonight as we were playing with sidewalk chalk.

It set me again to thinking--what do I want for her? What do we REALLY want for our children? It's easy to think sometimes that she's a super-genius, but I know that's just proud mama-ness. But honestly, would I want her to be a super-genius? Sometimes I think that I just want her to be happy, and that super-genii don't seem to be very happy. It's a circle I go through over and over in my head. Do I want a "great" "important" life for her, or a regular one? I don't want to do anything particularly important with my life, I just want to enjoy it as much as I can, and love people as best I can. Are the "important" people happy? It doesn't seem like it. But how can I say I'd have Anna aspire to mediocrity? And then there's the issue of God to muddy the waters further. Perhaps I shouldn't want her to be happy or important, but to be devoted. That seems easy enough, but is tricksy too. Lots of amazing people weren't particularly happy, and how can a Mama want anything less?

I suppose it doesn't really matter what I want for her, she'll have to figure it out on her own, but it's been swimming around my head since she was tiny.

Friday, March 21, 2008

Wichita, etc.

On Monday and Tuesday Abby and Anna and I went to Wichita for a major shopping trip. We had a really good time, and I think Abby got everything she wanted. Anna was an excellent shopper, happy to stay in her stroller and touch the clothes as we walked by. The only time she really wanted to get out was after she watched Abby's feet in a changing room. As far as she could tell, Abby went into the room, shut the door, and then stood on one foot, and then the other, and Anna thought that looked like great fun. We went swimming at the hotel that night, and learned that Anna is not a bit scared of the water. I let her go under several times, trying to teach her that she needs to ask "Are you ready?" and get a "yes" answer before jumping into the pool, but I didn't succeed. For the first time EVER, I'm a little bit glad I don't have my own pool in the backyard. She's spooky. Since Anna's been having such fun sleeping with Grammy Joan in the company bed whenever she goes to visit, I thought it would be fun to have her sleep with me in the hotel bed. It was not fun. I couldn't ever sleep with her in my bed when she was tiny, I would wake up in a panic every 30 minutes. I don't know how other Moms do it. I still woke up, even though she's almost 3 years old! I don't think I'll try that again for a long time.

I wrote down a few of my favorite quotes from the trip:
In the Olive Garden, the waiter brought me something and said "Ma'am".
Anna: (loudly, of course) "My Mama is not a man!"

Driving past downtown Wichita at night.
Abby: "Wow, Wichita is humongous!"

Also at the Olive Garden.
Betsy: "So, is Olive Garden all you expected?"
Abby: "More! So fancy shmancy."

I'm really glad we got to take the trip together. I had a blast.

***************************

I sort of finished the top for Lainey's quilt this afternoon, I have all of the blocks together and just need to put on the borders. I have an appointment to drop off the top on Thursday at 1:00, so it'd better be all done by then. I put off putting the blocks together for so long, and then it didn't take any time at all to do it. That's the part that makes me nervous, where you'll be able to tell if you did something wrong and it won't go together. It turned out nicely though, and I think it's going to be nice when it's all done.

Abby and I shopped and shopped in the Dollar Tree in Dodge City on the way to Wichita, the next Craftster Challenge is due April 1-5, and involves making something out of things purchased at a Dollar Store. She helped me choose items and make a plan, and I'm eager to get started working. Hopefully I'll get done in time! If I enter, I'll be 3 for 3 on Challenges this year!

Matthew and I looked at cars yesterday. I wish Prissy could make it another two years, but she makes lots and lots of funny noises, and sometimes doesn't go into reverse. Looking at cars is not nearly as much fun as I would have thought, and I didn't really think it was going to be THAT fun. The new Altima doesn't have a key, you just push a button to start it, and is so fancy it makes me nervous to stand by it...and the passenger seat is amazingly uncomfortable. We told the salesman that was the problem, and he sat in it, and then agreed. We went around to lots of the other ones, but it's just something funny about that seat. It tips you forward. The Chevy Malibu seems like an old lady car inside, and is called a Malibu. The used Honda is a very nice car, but there's not a bit to be excited about, not a BIT! And if it already has 50,000 miles on it, am I just going to have to do this again in a couple of years? I want to just drive Prissy forever. So, we're sort of at a standstill, hoping to find a 2006 Altima somewhere, so we can sit in the passenger seat and see if it's better. Grown up stuff-blegh!

Thursday, March 13, 2008

Oh, for pity's sake.

The past two weeks we've been doing Kansas Assessments with our 3rd and 4th graders. We've had two weeks of "Spirit Days" to pump the school up about doing well on the tests. Last Tuesday I came to school and noticed that I was the only one not wearing red. The kids, after asking a zillion times why I wasn't, explained about the spirit weeks (Red="get fired up for the test"). I should have known after missing the first day that it was going to be a bad go. The next day was hat day (team spirit for the tests). I decided to skip hat day because I really don't like wearing hats and they make me look funny(*remember this*). The kids were quite disappointed. Thursday I wore yellow (going for the gold), like a good kid. On my way out of school on Thursday I asked Billee (our secretary) what Friday was, because I forgot to look. She said pyjama day, my very favorite. But on Friday when I got to school, Billee, looking sheepish, said "ummm, sorry, it's actually NOT pyjama day." Wearing PJ's to school on a non PJ day is a little embarrassing, but still very comfy. The kids thought it was hilarious. Then we started this week. Monday was just regular, but then on Tuesday it was "camo day" (war on the test),and I didn't have anything to wear and the kids were again disappointed. Wednesday was twin day(together we can!), and all of the teachers wore jeans and black shirts, and I managed that just fine. Today was hat day again (put your thinking caps on), and since I'd done such a terrible job with Spirit Week so far, I decided to go ahead and wear a hat even though I don't like to (and I look funny). So I showered and put on a hat and didn't bother fixing my hair. I got to school and all of the teachers were in the gym...for our staff picture. I had no idea it was picture day. How did I get to be such a mess? I showed them my hair under the hat, and they agreed I looked "cute" in the hat and I should leave it on. So in the 2007-2008 staff picture, we have 15 lovely staff members and one crazy girl in a denim bucket hat that says "K-State Kid". Last year our school did so well on the tests that we got a big plaque! With our Staff picture on it!

Tomorrow, I've checked over and over, is pyjama day. I'm ready for Spring Break.

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

Today's progress

I finished the blocks for the quilt this afternoon. True to form, on the last 2 blocks, my bobbin thread ran out, and then in my hurry I didn't get it in just right, and it was another 20 minutes before I finished those last two. But hurrah! Tomorrow I can press them and then maybe start putting the whole top together.

We also got our new bedding today, and it's all pretty in there. Here's a picture of our new bed!

Now we'll need something pretty to go on the wall above it. Any ideas?

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

Quilting!

I started sewing the strip sets today for Lainey's quilt. I think it's going to be really lovely. I learned a few important things.

*I can sew two sets during each side of "Chicka Chicka Boom Boom", but it will take all of "Katy and the Big Snow" and "The Little House" to get them all ironed.

*Just when I think, "This is going together really quickly", I should check what I'm sewing, because it's usually the wrong pieces together.

*It really is a good idea to fill up two bobbins at the beginning, and switch to a new needle like the book tells you to.

Anna loves to listen to stories on tape in her bed, I hope she will still love that come May when there's no more Binky as companion.

Wednesday, March 05, 2008

Hairball!

I entered another Craftster challenge! This one was "Craft your hometown" I made a miniature of our world's largest hairball. It was supposed to be to scale, but I had trouble getting it to weigh enough. Matthew and I had a really good time trying to get flour into a balloon, we used a funnel, and tried all sorts of things, and neither of us got lungs full of flour, so that's good. It was lots of fun. I had some brown hairy yarn that I got free somewhere, and crocheted it with black yarn for extra stability, because the hair yarn is pretty thin. Here it is! I love it.
I wanted to make it to scale, and it's close. The original now weighs 20 lbs and is 35" around. To scale, it should be 17.5" around and 2.5 lbs. It's the right size, but a little light.
That's two challenges so far this year. I really like entering them. The next one is a dollar store challenge, I haven't read the specifics yet, but hopefully I'll have an idea for that one too.
In other news, our bed rails arrived today and we put the bed up. We've never slept in a bed in this house before, I think it'll be fun. It's awfully pretty, I'm glad I got the one I've been wanting for so long. I'll post pictures when I get it all prettied up.

Wednesday, February 20, 2008

Done!

I just finished hanging the curtains in the bedroom. It's now all done! I wouldn't have made it before they got home, but the plane was delayed out of Medford, so I have another couple of hours to vacuum, sweep, dust, etc. I'm excited to see them, and I hope MJL likes his new bedroom! I think it's perfect.

I'll repost the before picture


And the after from the same angle


Close up of the curtains--with the light coming in from behind you can't really see the colors...but you can see how I matched the plaid! I love these.
And I even made a little light switch cover! You can see the curtain fabric better here. I think shadows are making it look lumpy, it looks better in real life to me...or maybe it's that you don't look at it so closely when just walking into the room and flipping on the light.There are a couple of things left to do. We have a bed coming from Overstock, so we won't be sleeping on mattresses on the floor anymore, and we've got to figure out a better system for CD storage. But mostly, it's all done! I can't believe how much I was able to do this week. I won't list it...then you'll know I'm crazy. I did rest some too! I read three books and tried to get to bed before 11:00 on all school nights. I even watched a couple of hours of TV!

Tuesday, February 19, 2008

It's just that I'm a little bit crazy.

I just finished painting the bathroom. There aren't any windows in there. Whew. I told myself that I wasn't going to have time to get to the bathroom, but then I just decided to try to do it anyway. I'm really tired now. I'll post some pictures when it dries and I get the plastic down. And when I recover from the paint fumes.

OK, I went downstairs and moved some things around and then carried a bookshelf upstairs and hung the curtain rods and cut the fabric for the curtains in the bedroom and then the paint was dry so I took everything down and put everything else back in and now I can post pictures. I'm still going to wait on the bedroom until I finish the curtains, which I am NOT going to do today.

I didn't take any before pictures. It was just like this only white.
Phooey. The color's not true in these pictures either. It's a nice greeny blue, called "Refreshing Pool" I thought the flamingos would like it.

Friday, February 15, 2008

Progress

I'm done with painting for the day. I've used one gallon, I'm at least half-way done, and I'm due at Katrina's house for dinner in less than an hour. I'm still having fun, but I'm more tired today, and I think it would be a little easier if I were a little taller. Today I listened to my wedding soundtrack and the Icthus worship tape. Lots of memories. I was surprised to discover I could still sing along to all of the Icthus songs, though I haven't heard them in...heavens... 8 years?
Here are pictures. I've finished the entryway, the north wall, the funny closet space, and half of the giant east wall. I've done the edges for the whole south wall too. Oh--Don't worry MJL, the color doesn't look quite the same in these pictures. It's not nearly so Big Birdy in real life. Until tomorrow!

Home Alone!

Matthew and Anna are off in Oregon, and I'm taking full advantage of the empty house to do lots of projects.

First, I made Anna a little sweatshirt before they left so that she'd be especially cute on the plane. My first appliquƩ. I cut up one of Abby's old sweaters and put a heart on a red sweatshirt. I was pleased.
On the first night, I saw my parents for a little bit and finished the star blanket I've been working on. But another baby was added to the tally (Congratulations Brandi!) and so I've got 5 gifts left on the list.
Yesterday I made a good start on the biggest project, painting my bedroom. I moved everything out, taped, washed the walls, and laid down most of the plastic. Then my family insisted that I take a break and see them for awhile, so Abby and I finished a little Valentine's fleece blanket and we had some pizza. Here's a before and "in progress" of the room.Oh, when I was at Home Depot buying paint, I saw some plate covers in a Clearance cart that I thought would look nice in the Paris bathroom, so I got them (super cheap!) and put them in too.
I'm having way too much fun. I'm using my old "Boom Box" that was the huge hit of 5th grade Christmas and listening to old tapes. I decided yesterday that, weird as I am, I really LOVE working.

Friday, February 08, 2008

The Prize

I finished mllr's prize yesterday, it should go out in the mail tomorrow. See, being brave has it's advantages. I used thread crochet to make a bookmark, and I think it's pretty, but it's huge. I crochet so big! I don't know what my problem is. I even downsize to a smaller hook to try to combat the problem, but it doesn't help much. This bookmark will be best used in some giant tome. At least it will be hard to lose? Here's a picture,
and with a book for reference.

I didn't think that I liked thread crochet at all when I made that snowflake, but since then I've made two other little projects with it, so maybe it's not so bad after all.

I'm still working on the star blanket, it seems like it's taking forever, but I only work on it while watching TV, and I don't do much of that.

At the moment I'm not sure what to start next. I have lots of items on my to-do list, but none are immediately exciting.

Tuesday, February 05, 2008

Scary Things

I started studying for the Quantitative portion of the GRE yesterday. Yikes. It's been 11 years since I sat down with a math book, and I had forgotten all about the panic and confusion and horrid horrid horrid combination of me and critical reasoning. Matthew and I are going to sit down together tonight and work some. I hope that helps. I was really excited to go to the Truck Stop and have pancakes and sit by each other to study just like in college, but it snowed, so we'll have to make do here at home. If I can get to the point where I can rationally read the question and think about it, it will be a big improvement. I'm sure that crying and picking answers at random is not my best option.

I also entered the Craftster "Craft Your Resolution" Challenge. I've wanted to enter a challenge forever, but been too shy and scared and uninspired. It was super scary to do, but all of the responses have been kind, and now that I'm over the first hurdle, maybe I'll participate more in the forum. Such nice kindred spirits there. If you're feeling kind, stop by and vote for me 2/6/08-2/12/08. You have to join Craftster to vote, but surely you want to do that anyway. Here's a nudge. Also feel free to vote for something other than mine. There are lots of amazing projects. I haven't decided which I'm voting for.

My blogger spell check doesn't work any more. Does anyone else have this problem? I hate not having it. Makes me feel intellectually naked. I like the protective blanket spell check provides.

Friday, February 01, 2008

Hamartia

I started studying in earnest for the GRE today. I know I'm a big nerd, but I'm having lots of fun. I did the verbal section today. Guess my weakness--not crazy vocabulary or tricky analogies...reading comprehension. So spending the last 8 years flying through novels and skimming the conflict to get to the happy ending DIDN'T help my brain? Rats!

Here's an analogy sample for you. I think they're the most fun. Remember to be Specific. That's usually what trips me up.

Electricity : Wire

a. fluid : pipe
b. car : highway
c. river : bank
d. light : bulb
e. music : instrument

Reel : Tape

a. ball : string
b. turntable : record
c. tire : wheel
d. skein : yarn
e. spool : thread

Cut : Laceration

a. park : place
b. slit : gap
c. knife : separation
d. hole : puncture
e. boil : blister

Back to work! Answers tomorrowish.

Sunday, January 27, 2008

amigurumi, etc.

I made my first attempt at amigurumi, the Japanese craft of making small animals out of crochet. I made a skunk for Jairus' Birthday. He's cute-ish, but not nearly as cute as the pictures in the pattern. I'm not sure if I'll try again. It wasn't hard, really... I think I just need more practice with embroidery in order to make the face better. I also made Anna a skirt out of an old sweatshirt that was in the goodwill pile, that was fun and it's pretty cute. I don't know if it looks cute here in the picture, maybe I'll get one of her in it, that'll make anything cute. I'm working on another star blanket. I found a simpler explanation of the pattern on Craftster, and this one is looking lots better than the first one.



Oh, and here's an update on the mantel, Linda saw some deer at a store downtown and I think they really helped. Thanks!


Thursday, January 17, 2008

Leggings

I made a few quick things in the last two days, including a dress for Anna out of an old sweater I'd already cut the sleeves off of... her description? "This is a terrible dress". I have to agree. It didn't work.

More successful were the leggings. I made a pair of leg warmers last night-- made seems excessive in description. I cut the worn out feet out of a pair of pretty wool socks and there you go--baby leg warmers. Here's a picture.
Tonight Matthew made dinner (bliss!) so I had time to make a pair of tights/leggings out of an old scarf that was soft and pretty and that I've had in the "make something out of" basket for quite a while. These turned out really well. Anna's in bed now though, and I forgot to get a picture so you don't get an "action shot" of these. I think I'm getting pants figured out. That's exciting.
Also here's a picture of Cephas' snake. I had him here for repair, and since I won't be spoiling anyone's Christmas, here's a picture. He's made out of an old tie stuffed with poly-fil and a wire hanger to make him bendy. He was fun to make, but took a lot longer than I had anticipated. I saw the idea somewhere online...sorry I'm not sure where.

Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Some of everything

One of my other resolutions, not listed, was to try to update my blog more... I love to read everyone else's and want them to update more, so in golden rule light, I should update more too. But I have a hard time doing that.

It's been busy, getting back on track, but I feel like we might be starting to settle in. I finished getting the Birthday cards ready for the year, I always feel a little antsy when I haven't finished that, but now it's done and everyone should get cards and I don't have to worry about forgetting someone. It really does feel relaxing to me to get that done. Sending Birthday cards makes me happy. Getting them all organized ahead of time is like a little present to myself. I get to have the joy of sending them all year long, without the hassle. It does take a little while, but it's not too bad. I address the ones that I think will be in the same place for awhile, and by the end I have the big families addresses memorized, so that's easy, and then I just put a little sticky note with the date and file them in the Birthday box and take them out one month at a time and put them with my bills. So cards may not arrive that close to the actual Birthday, since I send them all out on Tuesdays, but it's close enough, and easy for me.
I have a student teacher this semester! His name is Adam and he's the brother in law of a friend of mine from K-State, a sweet girl I student taught with. I'm pretty excited about it, it'll be so nice to have another teacher in the classroom, we'll be able to do centers, and small groups, and he's already done tons of the little things that I never find time to do. It makes me nervous, I want to do a good job and I'm not terribly sure how exactly to do that, but at least I like teaching, so the experience can't be worse for him than my student teaching with the teacher who hated her job.

My crafting basket is overflowing. I have so many projects and ideas and things to try. Katrina gave me a beautiful book for Christmas, and I want to make EVERYTHING. I want to keep sewing clothes for Anna, and play around some more with altering clothes for myself, and I want to make a t-shirt quilt, and there are 8 babies coming! It's fun to have so much sweet project motivation.

The January mantel gives me fits. Maybe you can help. I never feel like it looks right. Linda made me these "orbs" to put in the silver bowl, because it looked funny with the empty silver bowl, but I still think something looks wrong. More orbs? Last year I had flowers in the bowl, but I didn't like that either. I thought maybe the flowers on the bottom would give a feeling of snow, and that the sparse look would be sort of wintery, but I'm not sure about any of it. I don't feel like I have this trouble with any other month. Here's a picture--input welcome.

Hmm...this post seems boring to me. I'll try to get some Anna cuteness or projects posted soon.

Sunday, December 30, 2007

Resolutions

I have too many New Year's Resolutions bouncing around in my head. I know that I ought to narrow it down to two or three resolutions that I really try to stick to...but I'd like to lay them all out here to look at first. We'll see later about the narrowing.

I've also thought about putting them into categories, so that I just have two or three big resolutions, with lots of bullet points, but it's really the same thing as having lots of resolutions, isn't it? Just more organized.

Be more healthy:
1. 5 fruits and veggies a day.
2. 8 glasses of water.
3. 7 hours of sleep a night. (even in a resolution, I know 8's just not realistic)
4. Get up before school to use my new treadmill!
5. Incorporate new fruits and veggies into our lives.

Be more happy:
1. Try to sit more, not rush from one project to the next.
2. See more friends, make time to talk on the phone.
3. Be nicer to Matthew.
4. Enjoy Anna.

Be more holy:
1. Don't sleep too late to go to church. Enjoy both services.
2. Read through the Bible. I got a 90 day Bible last year and made it to day 15. :( Try again. :)
3. Pray more in a more focused way. I'm good with spotty prayer, little moments during the day, but not so much with the dedicated time.


And then there are the things that seem to me to be more like goals than resolutions. I'm not sure what the difference is.

1. Support more local business and buy more handcrafted things.
2. Take the GRE and start my master's program.
3. Find more new music to love.

So...15 things. We'll see how it goes.

Happy New Year!

Sunday, November 18, 2007

Weekend projects

I had a big weekend of crafting. I have a whole pile of things I've been meaning to try, I finished two of them this weekend, and I finished the monster Christmas quilt I've been working on forever. We decided to stop the quilt a little early, to try to tame the hugeness a bit, and I bound it from the front instead of the back to help with that a little too. It fits nicely on the bed now. Matthew says I can't put it on for real until after Thanksgiving, but here's a picture.
I also made a crochet snowflake. I've wondered about thread crochet, and if it would be fun or terrible, and I would say, after completing this, that it's neither. Once I got the hang of it, (which took quite a while) it wasn't terrible, but I never really enjoyed it either. I was always looking ahead and counting down, hoping to be finished. I do think it looks pretty cute though, and it'll be nice to have something I made on the tree. I did the glue and pins thing tonight, so here's a picture of it all spread out and drying.

I started and finished another project yesterday which I am very very very excited about, but I'm not showing pictures because of gifty conflicts. :)

And I started the practice version of Anna's Christmas Dress, the one I'm going to make out of my bridesmaid's shawl. I'm making this one out of a pretty denim fabric that Megan gave me, and using a pattern for the first time in 20 years. I made the (lined!) bodice tonight, after 2 phone calls home. Mom helped me cut it out yesterday. For some reason, this kind of sewing makes me very nervous. Something about having a pattern maybe? There is a right and a wrong way to do this, and if I mess it up, it won't fit. The other times I'm just making it up as I go, I figure there's a good chance it won't work anyway, so there's no pressure. Maybe that's it. It's strange to feel so nervous about it. And Mom's so calm about it, and gets nervous about her quilting. It's funny how we're different. Here's a picture of the bodice.

Oh, and I wanted to mention a failure too, just so you know it's not all glory. Last weekend I tried to make Anna a pair of leggings out of the sleeves of an old sweater, and it didn't work at all. I couldn't get the pieces to come together right or stay stitched, one leg was longer than the other, it was a mess. But if anyone has a sweater they don't want anymore, I'd love to try again, so bring it or send it, and I'll cut it up! I eventually gave up on the pants and stitched what was left of the sleeves into little gift bags, so if you get a funny looking Christmas present, that's why. Desperate lemonade.

Wednesday, November 14, 2007

If only I could knit...

then maybe you would all receive these for Christmas....

"Knitted masks make great gifts! Skiers love their sporty look..."
"Misses' ski mask starts with a warm dickey, ends with a gay pom pon on top"

--McCall's Christmas Make-it Ideas 1967

Wednesday, October 31, 2007

Kiki's Wedding Part 2

Out of order...sorry. This will be ridiculously long and overly detailed, for Megan and Sara and anyone else who missed the day.

The wedding day was warm and sunny with a slight breeze. I never would have predicted such weather for October 20, but I should have known that God would deliver for Katrina.

We went and got our hair done in the morning, mine was flippy and cute and I went against the hairdresser's advice and got a red headband to match my dress, and was very happy. Katrina's hair was woven up and was glossy and gorgeous. We all went to the salon together, and then ran out to Claire's together to get my headband and some clips for Brandi. It was funny to run errands together, the day felt normal and not, normal and not, all day long.

We went back to Katrina's house and had some lunch in the basement, peeking out every so often to see the tent and the deck, all prettied up with curtains and tulle and red flowers and bows. It was all so pretty and perfect and so Katrina. Then we did our makeup, and Katrina did mine, just as she has for every major event in my life. I felt bad, having the bride fix me up, but she's Katrina, and didn't mind a bit. (And really, she'll be much happier with the pictures this way. I'm a disaster. There's a reason she always helps me.)

Anna arrived and Brandi fixed her hair. She sat still for the curling, and was adorable in her white dress. We girls all got into our dresses, and prayed and cried with Jeanne just before we went upstairs. The music started, stopped, and then started in earnest. The grandparents and parents were seated, and there was a nervous moment when I couldn't remember when I was supposed to start down the steps. Also there were lots of wasps. We all walked in to "Window in the Skies" by U2. I was nervous and excited and happy and very very shaky. Watching the girls walk in was unreal. The ring bearer came in with his red suitcase, looking dapper and proud. Anna slowly came down the aisle, pausing to drop petals, spin around, offer petals to individual guests, until finally Joe cajoled her to the front. Katrina walked in to Mark Cohn's "True Companion". Her red shoes were perfect, we could see them as she started down the steps, all white dress and bright red shoes. She did have to pause at the bottom to shake the wasps out of her veil, but kept her composure mightily. I've been trying to research wasps at weddings, to find the country where they're good luck, surely there is one, but I can only find information about WASP's at weddings, and I get frustrated. A prize to anyone who can find it for me!
She walked in with Bobby, and we all cried, but not as much as Joe. Kent did a great job with the wedding. He told Joe how lucky he was, and it was clear how much he meant it. What a blessing to be married by someone who loves you enough to choke up. After the ceremony, I heard a couple of the groomsmen commenting "That pastor was actually pretty cool". I felt so proud. I'm sorry I can't say more about that, I was trying not to cry, to enjoy the moment, to dodge the wasps and steel myself for the sting, willing myself to be silent and not ruin the wedding if it did happen, to watch Anna, to not fall over when Anna pushed me, and to be "in the moment". (We had a conversation about mindfulness on the way home from Denver, and I'm trying to practice that more) (Obviously I need the practice).

After the wedding we took pictures and then got to sit around under the tent and chat for a couple of hours before dinner. It was just what Katrina wanted, a day that she actually got to spend with people, and have some time to enjoy it.

The dinner was delicious and fun, and then we headed out to the Knight of Columbus Hall for the reception. We had lined the tables with white cloths and black table runners, with red candle holders and white votives and red and black guitar picks personalized for Katrina and Joe. They were a big hit, everyone said they were a great idea. Whoever thought of that is a genius. :) Their cake was three layers, with a red ribbon around the middle and lyrics from
"True Companion" written around the outside of the top and bottom layers. It was gorgeous and cool and delicious. Chelsea and Brandi and two groomsmen gave toasts and did a lovely job. We did the Grand March all the way through, Katrina and Joe danced to "Picture in a Frame" by Tom Waits(?) She told me 3 or 4 times and I never remember. Matthew and I got to dance a little, the bridesmaids all got to dance a little, Anna danced with Joe, we had cake and beer and cheese and meatballs and got to see lots of people.

I loved being a bridesmaid. I think, maybe even more than being a bride. But there was a dance, so it's not really a fair comparison. Bridesmaids get to be bossy, and I do love that.

The next day there was a brunch out at Lance and Jeanne's house, I was glad to get a chance to talk more with Jeff and Brandi and Jenny. And then they opened presents!

It was a great week.

Kiki's Wedding Part 1

I know I'm way behind everyone on this one, but late is better than never.

I'm so thankful for all of the time I got to spend with Katrina doing wedding stuff. It was such a special time to spend together.

We went to Denver for her Bachelorette, and I got to spend a regular evening at home with the couple. We watched the Rockies play, ate Burritos, cleaned the apartment, it was fun to see them together at home. It's so strange still that she's married, and that Joe is a part of my life now, but a happy strange. It's made me even more thankful for my friends, who are still so much a part of my life, because it is funny to all of a sudden share someone with a husband. I'm also really thankful that Joe is a fantastic guy who loves her and I think he'll be a great addition to my friend-family. (Framily?)

Anyhoo, we went downtown on the train and ate sushi and then went to Mynt and Hush. Katrina got free drinks and we danced and were reminded that it's always good to take Chelsea with you. We got in the back door free at Hush, because she's so darn cute. Or, "scrumptious", according to the guy we walked by on the sidewalk.

On the way home the next day, the four girls from High School once again shared a car. Katrina, Chelsea, Brandi and I had a wonderful time. We talked the whole way, about this and that, like no time had passed at all. It's amazing how our lives have all gone different directions. I like to think about our different paths, coming from the same center, and back to the center again for the wedding. It's a pretty flower in my head. Were I a writer, I think we'd make terrific Chick-Lit.

The week preceding the wedding was full full full. Anna is a dream. She took good naps in Katrina's basement while we wrapped silverware and made programs and tied bows and, and, and. It was fun to spend so much time with Lance and Jeanne, and to remember that I'm a part of that family too.

The wedding day itself was beautifully surreal. I think maybe it deserves it's own post.

Craftiness

We've been super busy this month, maybe I'll have time right now to catch up, this post will be all crafts.

I can post pictures of Katrina's quilt now that she's received it. She was very happy, and I can't wait to see it in her new little home, to watch movies with her snuggled up in it.

I used the rail fence pattern and 30's reproduction prints. I set out to make a red and white quilt, with some other accent colors, but when I got it all put together, I realized it's much more blue and white. I didn't realize how much my tastes influenced it until I laid out the finished top in the living room to look at it. It was PERFECT in that room. At least, it has a lot of me in it, and that's a nice quality in a gift, yes? Also, I intended to do a variation of the rail fence pattern that makes sort of open and close boxes all throughout, but I didn't realize until I'd sewn all of the blocks that I would need to sew half of them flipped. I thought I could just flip them around and then sew them together. So this is what it looks like and I'm still pleased, just a bit wiser.

Anna picked the fabric for the back. I held up two and asked her which one Kiki would like better.



I made another gift quilt a while ago, can't post pictures of it yet, but Matthew said when he saw it "That's so (name of recipient)", so maybe I'm getting better at picking out fabric for others.


I also made Katrina a nightie out of an old U2 Concert t-shirt, I was really really pleased with that. I'm excited about all of the t-shirt possibilities. I forgot to take a picture of that before I gave it to her, but surely I'll make more.


Right now I'm working on a Christmas quilt for our bed. I picked out the fabrics and cut out the blocks, and then Matthew made up a plan for how to put them together. It's my favorite way to quilt, it's fun to do something together. It's a monster though, I think I may have done something wrong in the mathematical step, it's going to be HUGE. Here's a picture of the grid.


I'm also working on a little star baby blanket, trying to use up some scraps. I'm using small yarn and a small hook and making a blanket in a shape! All big steps for me. I think it's coming along alright, I've modified the pattern a bit as I go, I think my version is better. *warning--crochet terms coming* I think it's better to use a decrease rather than skip stitches when making an inside corner, I don't like the holes that the skipped stitches make, and I don't understand the point of the slip stitches and chaining in one corner, they're not pretty. But perhaps I just don't know enough about pattern making. The other problem I'm having is size. I can sort of envision what size a square or rectangular baby blanket should be, but the star shape is throwing me for a loop. How big?
And Joanna just sent me two beautiful old fabrics and some neato pieced oval/diamonds, I don't know what I'm going to do with it all, but it'll be fun.
Oh! And, with our bridesmaids dresses we got shawls out of matching satin, and I'm going to try to make Anna a Christmas dress out of mine. Eeek!

Sunday, October 07, 2007

Laura K 10K

I did it!

The 10K was this morning. I was super nervous all day yesterday and couldn't get to sleep last night, but the race was this morning and was so much fun. We started at the zoo and ran down 4th, and past the Cancer Center, and then south on Main out to Sagebrush, and then back through the zoo. It was fun to run with a group of people and I didn't get lost. :) I kept my pace with my heart rate monitor, and finished in 1:10:22 (Is that how you write it?), which was my goal. I was 75th out of 140, so not at all last. I can't believe that it was fun. I'm excited for next year.


Here are a few pictures.

Me before the race.

My fans.

Anna greeting me at the finish.
After the race they did a one mile fun run through the zoo for the kids. Anna was excited and very serious about her race, though she was easily distracted by the animals, and rode for a lot of it on her Daddy's shoulders.


It was a great day.